There are clouds here,

I’m below them

Are you on one of these?

As I look up, all these shapes

Are you making them,

Are you making the drops and the winds?

Are you striking the lightening in my eyes?

Is it you who cries?

When all you see is sore

Without your mercy, without your mouth,

When it thunders.

Do you see me from above?

When I think of you and sleep,

Is it you who sends cool breeze to slap my ears,

Whenever I sit and weep?

Is that white the shade of your cheek?

Is the pink your tongue, when you speak?

Because it calms me down.

After all the gray beneath you

Do you wave these birds flying by

For they chirp and they tweet

And send the love beneath my feet.

And now I hear this Azaan,

To my childhood, which belongs

And all that’s in my heart is quiet,

Do you hear it too,

When all that is, is at peace?

Leave a comment