Can I touch my heart, my Lord?

It doesn’t feel like it is there

And I’m so afraid that it’s missing

I’m too afraid to touch it even

I wonder if you’ve been seeing.

There’s a blob of worry in the place

And sweat of anxiety in my bones

My veins have encircled my neck

I wonder if my blood is my death.

Can I touch and feel you, my Lord?

Does it hurt you too?

They tell me we all are parts of you.

I feel alone

Though I have decades of love

Would it make things a little easier

If I believed that you’re somewhere above?

My senses are shamble

And my feet crawl in gamble

And it’s not easy when I sit quietly

It’s hard when I don’t move

But when I move I feel lost

Even though I know I am home.

Can I touch my heart, my Lord?

Tell me that it’ll be there when I do

That it hasn’t left

That you’ll hide me, for I’m still a part of you!

Leave a comment