And when I left Kashmir
I left the golden grove
I left the shaft of white
I left the warming plove

I left the mountains wide
I left the caress wind
I left the grain of eyes
I left the homing calm

When I left Kashmir
I found the jungles deep
I found the laughing trees
And found a talking sheep

I roamed with her the wild
I climbed on every pile
I bathe in ponds and danced on leaves
I found a wander while

When I left Kashmir
I heard them singing song
Of those who went and came back
Of those who were just gone

I told them I would come back
To lakes and ponds and men
I told myself to let go of
The wild and singing lambs

When I left Kashmir
I did not know where to go
I stumbled here by chance
The sweetest place I know

Leave a Reply

